Enjoying a peaceful setting in Chislehurst, South-East London, and a short walk from Elmstead Woods Station within easy reach of Central London, Babington House School has a long and fascinating past.

The school was founded in 1887 by Madame Rossel, a distinguished Belgian lady who was particularly interested in fostering the arts for children. Among her friends was Lord Thomas Babington Macaulay, the great Victorian writer and politician, whose family name, Babington, was adopted as the name of the School.

Since 1959 the school has been administered as an educational charity by a board of Governors. The present building has long been associated with the Bilbrough family and was formerly known as Elmstead Grange.